Environment, Housing
State or Federal?
The purpose of the Affordable Housing and Sustainable Communities (AHSC) Program is to reduce greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions through projects that implement land-use, housing, transportation, and agricultural land preservation practices to support infill and compact development, and that support related and coordinated public policy objectives.

The AHSC Program provides grants and/or loans to projects that achieve GHG emission reductions and benefit Disadvantaged Communities, Low-Income Communities, and Low-Income Households through increasing accessibility of affordable housing, employment centers and Key Destinations via low-carbon transportation resulting in fewer vehicle miles traveled (VMT) through shortened or reduced vehicle trip length or mode shift to transit, bicycling or walking. Three Project Area types have been identified to implement this strategy: 1) Transit Oriented Development (TOD) Project Areas, or 2) Integrated Connectivity Project (ICP) Project Areas, or 3) Rural Innovation Project Areas (RIPA).

AHSC awards funds will be allocated through a competitive process, based on the merits of applications submitted and the proposed use of funds within the identified Project Area. The threshold requirements and application selection criteria focus on the extent to which developments realize the AHSC Program’s objectives of reducing GHG emissions, benefiting Disadvantaged Communities, Low-Income Communities, and Low-Income Households, providing affordable housing, demonstrating project readiness, and meeting other policy considerations.

Eligible Activities:
-Affordable Housing Developments**
-Housing-Related Infrastructure
-Sustainable Transportation Infrastructure
-Transportation-Related Amenities
-Program Costs (including active transportation, transit ridership, or criteria air pollutant reduction programs)

**includes new construction, acquisition, and substantial rehabilitation, including preservation of affordable housing at risk, or conversion of one or more nonresidential structures to residential dwelling units.
Eligible Entities
Local Public Agencies, Nonprofit Organizations, Private Corporations
Eligibility Notes
-A locality, public housing authority, redevelopment successor agency, transit agency or transit operator, Regional Transportation Planning Agency (RTPA), local Transportation Commissions, Congestion Management Agencies, Joint Powers Authority (JPA), facilities district.
-A developer or program operator.
Most Recent/Current Due Date
Feb 11, 2020
Min Award
Max Award
Total Possible Multi-Year Award
Match Required?
Match Notes
Enforceable Funding Commitments as percentage of Total AHSC Request Points
50% to 99% : 1 points
100% to 149%: 2 points
150% to 199% : 3 points
>200% : 4 points
California Department of Housing and Community Development
Competition Notes
A single developer may receive no more than $40 million per NOFA funding cycle.
Further Information

Link to Further Information
Edit Priority Level